Facing Down Forty

planning-a-40th-birthday-party.s600x600 Holy fuck I’m forty tomorrow. I’ll admit I’m struggling with it a little. I can’t help the little irrational thoughts from creeping in – I’m old, will I all of a sudden become lame and that life doesn’t look the way I thought it would. But I had someone say something cool to me today when I voiced my concerns. She told me it’s like when you are trying to lose weight and you should concentrate on how your clothes fit rather than the number on the scale. She’s right. Forty is just a number and it’s how I live life that’s far more important.  And I live life more fully now than I did five years ago.  And I’ve had a good year full of really fun adventures. But I’ll save that for another post.

So instead of lamenting about turning forty, here is my list of things I’m going to do over the next year:

  1. Throw a kick ass New Year’s Eve party and buck my history of hating NYE and all the expectations that come with it.
  2. Hit up Vegas again.
  3. Say yes to something that I would ordinarily say no to.
  4. Go skydiving.
  5. Go to the Calgary Stampede with my girlfriends and act like an idiot.
  6. Go outside of my comfort zone with something big.
  7. Be a true cougar. That’s right. How can I not? It’s hilarious.
  8. Take a chance on someone. (This is the scariest of all.)

And of course, continue to have fun, laugh, take risks, enjoy my amazing friends and family, and live life. Live it big and loud and truthfully. Here’s to being fabulous at 40!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. C
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 05:32:19

    Fukcin’ A! You go girl, that;s “rad” 😉

    Reply

  2. Sparkle & W(h)ine
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 11:00:14

    I’m sure you meant “throw a rad NYE party”. 😉 ILY, girlie! You’re wearing a much better attitude about it that I have. Happy Birthday! I’m celebrating you today! ❤

    Reply

  3. Elena
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 12:30:50

    love this! : )

    Reply

  4. Trackback: The Path into 2014 | Just Keep Swimming...

Leave a Reply

